June 12, 2023

RE: Letter in support of collective bargaining from school board members across Michigan

Dear [insert addressees]:

We would like to express our support of restoring educators' ability to collectively bargain (House Bills 4354-4357). This bill, introduced by Regina Weiss (District 6), Brenda Carter, Penelope Tsernoglou, Rachel Hood, Amos O'Neal, Carrie Rheingans, Stephanie A. Young, Christine Morse, Felicia Brabec, and Abraham Aiyash, would restore collective bargaining rights for educators that were previously removed in 2011 by Governor Snyder.

Educators are trained professionals who drive excellence in our public schools, helping our students thrive. They deserve the basic right to bargain collectively over their evaluations and placement so that they can actively participate in making our schools the best they can be.

As current school board members, we recognize that by collaborating with educators to develop a fair evaluation system, we support and respect our educators by giving them relevant feedback and goals.

We also recognize that educator placement impacts our communities deeply. Students need to have more teachers who look and sound like them and who come from the same communities, so that they can feel a sense of belonging and are better equipped to thrive. Currently, too many educators have little to no say over their classes and/or placement within districts.

We would like to recognize that when educators have a voice in their workplace, that students are more likely to succeed and educators feel supported and stay in the profession. At a time when educators are leaving the profession because of unrealistic working conditions, we know it is critical to ensure they have a say in how our education system meets the needs of our students AND that of those working in our schools.

We are signing this letter as individuals and not representatives of our Boards of Education. We urge you to support House Bills 4354-4357.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Gray, Board of Education Trustee, Redford Public Schools

Elnora Gavin, Board of Education Trustee, Benton Harbor Area Schools

Austin Marsman, Board of Education Trustee, Martin Public Schools

Jose Rodriguez, Board of Education Trustee, Grand Rapids Public Schools

Sara Melton, Board of Education Trustee, Grand Rapids Public Schools

Jordoun Eatman, Board of Education Trustee, Grand Rapids Public Schools

Stephanie Willoughby, Board of Education Trustee, Vicksburg Community Schools

Jessica Gupta, Board of Education Trustee, Rochester Community Schools

Donna Pennington, Board Member, Muskegon Covenant Academy

Tim Ciechorski, Board of Education Trustee, Royal Oak Schools

Susan Schmidt, Board Trustee, Ann Arbor Public Schools

Krystle DuPree, Board Trustee, Ann Arbor Public Schools

Matthew Bentley, Board of Education Trustee, Lincoln Consolidated Schools

Gina Aiuto, Trustee, Roseville Community Schools

Tim Marroquin, Trustee, Holland Public Schools